"Wish You Happy Every Day": An Expat's Life in China


The Past Two Weeks in Pictures, 3/28/11
March 28, 2011, 5:55 am
Filed under: dalian, week in pictures | Tags:

I apologize for the lack of updates; I’ve been pretty busy with a new class. In addition, Pam’s friend Marlin is here from Canada, so we’ve been experiencing Marlin Mania. So, I haven’t been taking as many pictures. I’m actually in the middle of an actual post about teaching, since I haven’t written in a while. In the meantime, though, here are a few random shots from the past two weeks.

Marlin arrived late Tuesday night…and so did food. So, so much food, none of which you can find here in Dalian: jello, popcorn, four different kinds of mustard, maple syrup, smokies, sour candies, cheese, GOOD COFFEE, EARL GREY, bagels, saskatoon berry jam, pistachios, pesto, and…oh, I don’t know, so, so much. Plus, the sparkly bacon T-shirt that Pam is wearing!

Despite Marlin Mania, life has continued as usual. Here are three of my students giving a presentation on a story they wrote about animals with powers. From left to right: Sam, David and Tom.

Merry Christmas everyone!!! Wait a minute…isn’t it March? The entrance to underpass in Victory Square.

Any time I see a “COFFEE” sign I get excited. This is a view from the inside of SPR Coffee, a cafe that is somewhat frequented by the expat crowd. Actually, the coffee is terrible and the food is overpriced, but they do decent cappuccinos and they have comfy chairs. It’s a nice place to come an relax, as it’s never really crowded and the staff doesn’t discourage loitering.

A shot of my friends Chris, Pam and finally me, taken at Chris’ place. I think that when I leave Dalian, one of the things I’ll miss most will be all the evenings we hung out at Chris’. Did I mention that I am the Nostalgia Queen? I know that in a few years I’ll find myself revisiting this blog and crying my eyes out…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Have you ever considered about including a little bit more
than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all.
Nevertheless just imagine if you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
Your content is excellent but with images and
video clips, this blog could undeniably be one of
the very best in its niche. Very good blog!

Like

Comment by Stan




Leave a Reply

