"Wish You Happy Every Day": An Expat's Life in China


The Week in Pictures, 3/10/11: Dalian at Night
March 10, 2011, 7:54 am
Filed under: dalian, week in pictures | Tags:

Night life in Dalian is fairly lively…unless, of course, you’re an English teacher whose days off fall on weekdays. Well, clubs aren’t all that interesting anyway. Here’s a peek at what happens to Dalian’s streets after the sun has gone down…

A night market near Youhao Square. In Dalian–and, I suppose–in many Chinese cities–night markets are quite popular.Now that it’s warmer out, they’re popping up everywhere. You can buy anything: street food, jewelry, T-shirts with bad English, hats with bad English, slippers, even underwear!

An underpass by Qingniwaqiao, across from Victory Square. I think the lighting puts a bit of cheer and excitement into people’s nightly excursions.

Youhao Square. At the center of the square is a giant disco ball. Don’t ask me why. No sleep till Brooklyn? Pshaw. No sleep till DALIAN!

While wandering around, I stumbled upon a church on Yuguang Street. I have been looking for a church forever – there’s nothing like going to a church, or any place of worship, to escape the noise and haste of city life. I almost missed this one, as it was hidden inside a construction wall. At the alter, you can see a cross, and, below, a menorah! I suppose they have services for multiple faiths. Flanked on either side are chinese characters: “一吗。。。内科“, or “yima…neike,” which I haven’t been able to translate. The second word, “neike,” literally means medicine that is meant to cure internal illnesses (as opposed to visible wounds). I asked my co-workers about “yima,” but even they didn’t know. “The one mother can heal your soul”? Your guess is as good as mine.

The Dalian International Airport at night. Guess I’ll be stuck here another year…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

no no not stuck, it’s a choice, it is always a choice

Like

Comment by kathryn payne

Good find with the church. I’d love to hear how easy or difficult it is for those who worship.

Like

Comment by Ed Baugh

I visited night markets in 2 Thailand cities but I didn’t buy any underwear! T-shirts, scarves, Indian food, jewelry; I loved them! I even found a Mont Blanc pen for Dad! What fun,and just like NYC every few feet a different language was spoken. My friends & I are planning to go back in 2013…can’t wait!

Like

Comment by Kitt




Leave a Reply

